Doctorate in Nursing or Health?

Good day everyone. I am a Licensed Practical Nurse with a BSN and a I recently earned Master of Science degree. I am so happy but I want to further my education with a doctorate degree. I am not sure whether I should earn a doctorate degree in nursing or a doctorate degree in another health related field (ex: PhD in Health Sciences, Doctorate in Health Sciences, PhD in Public Health, Doctorate in Health Education, etc.). I plan to become an educator at some point. A doctorate degree in any of these areas would suffice but I do not know which route I should choose. What do you think? Thanks for the input!

Sincerely,

HourGlassFrameNurse

My friend actually doing a PhD in health policy. I think the best bet if your focus is non clinical is for public health/epidemiology/biostatistics. Of course you can still do research in and on clinical settings as well but as you’ve mentioned if you don’t want to be a clinician this is a good pathway.
Cheers, onplaners

Thank you for that information. I found a college to work on my PhD in Nursing and I will be starting very soon. I am so excited! I also think that I should further your comments about the work settings of an advanced degree bearing LPN. I would like to become an Educator in the future. However, with my Master of Science degree alone, I can work as a Clinician in many settings. In fact, I did a search for jobs in NYC ( I would love to move there someday) and saw that I am qualified to be an Assistant Director of Nursing in the OR… The salary range is great too -$60,754.00 to $130,000.00 annually.- That is great! Can you imagine what I could do and how much I could earn with my Doctorate degree? In case you are wondering, the website to find the job description is on nychealthandhospitals.org/careers and the job ID# is 51547… Here is some additional information about the job…
Ast Dir. Nursing, Operating Room, NUR-0790A
Minimum Qualifications