Advice from seasoned nurses for new nurses

As a GN, I wonder what comments seasoned experienced nurses would have to offer as advice. What would you be cautious of as a new nurse, what do you wish you knew or someone had advised you as a new nurse, what would you tell the GN you with what you know now? I’m sure this is a common GN nurse question :slight_smile:

My best advice is to follow your dreams - and have several similar plans in case your preferred plan does not work out. Also, be prepared for something new to arrive that you never imagined in your life at some juncture in your career.

When I was a GN (14 years ago), I was told that I could not go straight into an ICU as a GN and I certainly could never go straight into an MSN program. I was surprised by this because I had a physical science background before I was a nurse and I had never heard anyone tell me this before. It was something that I had never heard from any other profession other than nursing. I was also advised to get a patient care assistant position in my last year of nursing school so that I would get more confident at the bedside. I listened to that advice - and went to a hospital recruiter. They saw my neuroscience background (before I was a nurse) and placed me in Neuro Trauma ICU. I graduated, passed my NCLEX, and was hired as a GN in the NTICU. This was such an easy transition for me because, by the time I was ready to start my new position, I already knew everyone’s names, where things were, and what they were called. I just had to learn my RN job. Furthermore, I was also accepted into a master of science in nursing program the following fall. I knew that I was still green enough to need time at the bedside, so I made my MSN studies part time and took the research and theory courses in my first year. I also found out where the medical students were meeting for grand rounds and case study presentations - and I attended those as a silent observer. I studied certification manuals for ICU